View unanswered posts | View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Search for:

does bunting for a hit to break up a no hitter break one of the unwritten rules of baseball?
* Yes it does. How dare a batter not swing fully during a no hitter. 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
* No it doesn't. A bunt hit scores the same as a line drive so get over yourself. 100%  100%  [ 2 ]
* other 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:32 pm 
Hall of Famer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:30 am
Posts: 14454
Location: The Bear Nebula
A bunt broke up a no-hitter last night. Is it the right baseball play?

In the unwritten rules of baseball, there is one that seems to never have a good answer: Can you bunt to break up a no-hitter? On one hand, you can understand the pitcher's feeling. He’s trying to etch his name into the annals of baseball history. He's been dealing all day and no one has been able to make solid contact with a swing all day, so a bunt -- a little squibber out in front of the plate -- is a type of cop out.

On the other, a bunt is a hit. It's just as legitimate as any other hit. And if a team is trying to win the game, wouldn't you want them to get on base any way possible?

Well, this question went from a philosophical debate to a very real one on Wednesday night. In the ninth inning of the Double-A Hartford Yard Goats-Trenton Thunder game, the Yard Goats were working on a combined no-no. Starting pitcher Rico Garcia had pitched six innings, with relievers Jordan Foley and Logan Cozart bridging the way to Ben Bowden in the ninth.

With one out, Trenton's Matt Lipka came to the plate.

Now, his options were: Swing for a hit, or ... bunt for a hit. Lipka chose the bunt. It rolled back to Bowden, giving the pitcher a chance to keep the no-hitter intact. He tried the glove flip and ... failed.

That would be the only hit the Thunder recorded that night, so, sure enough, when the game was over, there were some words exchanged on the field.

lots of words and jawing but no fight

so is bunting for a hit to break up a no hitter something to actually argue about? many people try to bunt for hits and fail, so just getting the bunt down doesn't mean it is a sure thing for a hit

as long as bunting for a hit is a legal thing to do, I see nothing wrong with doing so when the opportunity is there

"Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things."
George Carlin

BLOG : Emissions from the Bears Nebula

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:14 am 
Head Coach
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:23 pm
Posts: 2036
Location: South Dakota
I would say it all depends. If it’s a hitter that bunt hits quite a bit and a close game it’s fair play. If it’s 10-0 and a guy that typically does not bunt it’s bush league. I also think that because the game was in multiple relievers hand and not a starter still in going for it that factors in as well.

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group