So is Montgomery an inefficient back?

For all things Chicago Bears

Moderator: wab

dave99
Assistant Coach

DBB has the facts and figures.
https://dabearsblog.com/2022/how-good-i ... montgomery
If metrics are going to become more important this could be an issue
The secret is to work less as individuals and more as a team. As a coach, I play not my eleven best, but my best eleven.
~Knute Rockne
Otis Day
Hall of Famer

I am not sure what back would be efficient behind that OL . How many times was he hit in the backfield? How many times did his OL get knocked back into him?

Is he a gamebreaker? No. Can he be a damn good RB in this league? Hell yes.
Z Bear
MVP

Rush yards over expectation/carry (RYOE/carry)

I would like to know how that was tabulated. Seems very strange to have YAC at 1.6, 2.4, and 1.9 but negative RYOE. You would think those two numbers would coincide with each other.
The Cooler King
Hall of Famer

I'm not super high on Montgomery.

But I do think he's a decent back worth keeping this year. Then let him walk.
Ditka’s dictaphone
Head Coach

Herbert on Monty are keepers for me. Never considered anything else unless some team offered us an incredible trade
(26/09/2023) Winner of the inaugural

The Marshall Plan
Hall of Famer

Monty makes chicken salad out of chicken shit.

No OL.
McNagy play calling.
No consistent passing attack to keep the defense honest.

I’m just happy he hasn’t demanded a trade.
Mr.Irrelevant
Player of the Month

I thought this was a very interesting article - mostly because the results don't equal the eye test. My best guess about why that might be is because of how the numbers are arrived at. Basically, someone looks at where everyone is on the field at the time the RB gets the ball and then compares how each running back in the league does in the same situation.